Sports Forum   |   Scoreboard   |   Contact Us   |   WinPicks Software   |   Talkstock   |   Advertise   |   Follow Us on Twitter   |   Register  |   Login 
Register to post in the sports forumDownload the ScoresLine App for Android 

Forums   Register   Profile   Inbox   Address Book   Subscribe   My Forums   Search   FAQ   Login   Log Out

Another question for Bilbal.   Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Sports Handicapping Resources] >> WinPicks Software Forum >> Another question for Bilbal. Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Another question for Bilbal. - 11/10/2005 7:33:20 PM   
Idlemind26@yahoo.com

Since you're the pro... This might be a dumb question, but I'm new to Winpicks and was curious if you could clarify an issue for me. Is it possible to over-optimize a formula? The reason I ask is I also use technical analysis software for stock trading etc; and one of the big no-no's is to optimize formula's. It seems the more they are optimized there is a lot more chance of them losing their "robustness" and ability to work well in the future. I have been using formulas from the warehouse and I will run nightshift on them. They will typically be anywhere from 55-60% in the beginning which is realistic, but when nightshift is done they will be in the 80% range... I just don't see that lasting in the long run. I guess the basic question is if it's possible to get a worse results from tuning a formula even when it says it's a higher % after tuning. I hope I worded this right! Thanks for the help, it's much appreciated!

**Fear the Clown**
Post #: 1
RE: Another question for Bilbal. - 11/10/2005 11:20:48 PM   
farbror